Hallowe’en Special, 31st October (sold out)

by theshedlikesfood

I’ve struggled a little (a lot!) over this menu, for two reasons. Firstly, how to avoid the tacky pitfalls usually associated with Halloween grub? The canned-pumpkin pie and olive-eyeball pasta, the bread-crumbed witches’ fingers and spaghetti worms (pasta seems to get particularly abused if the recipes we found through Google were anything to go by!). My other main concern is that this menu may be our last (for a few months anyway – too cold in the shed), so we’d better make it a good one – see point number 1!

So I tried to think outside usual bag of Halloween treats, and turned to the writings of a chef oft associated with the vaguely macabre, Mr Fergus Henderson. I’ve had the Nose to Tail book for nearly two years, and although I must have read it cover to cover over 20 times, I’ve barely even touched the surface of the recipes within. As the sole meat-eater in a household of two, there’s not much scope for whole hams, pigs’ heads or terrines which will serve 8. But I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the read (over and over again!), and feel that it’s time to put my book smarts into practise.

Bloody, bloody Mary

Devilled Crab Cakes

Spiced Pumpkin Soup

Belly, Bird, Beast and Bean Cassoulet

Trick or Treat Party Bag

Suggest donation, £25

The dishes inspired by Nose to Tail are the devilled crab cakes and the cassoulet. Henderson sings the praises of confit delicacies – the process of cooking and preserving meat in fat – so I’m going to give it a go with my Belly, Bird, Beast and Bean Cassoulet (pork belly, ducks’ legs, and wild boar sausages since you ask). This one is not for the faint hearted!

Email theshedlikesfood@googlemail.com for reservations. Starts at 7:30pm, BYO booze, fancy dress optional but advised!

